veggie soup

15 May

I was craving soup (crazy, I know, it was like 96 degrees here yesterday!) and had a ton of veggies on hand so this just kinda came together. I cooked some onion and garlic in a little butter.

Added some chopped carrots and yellow bell pepper.

Poured in chicken broth and broccoli,

let simmer for a while before throwing in a few handfuls of spinach.

I blended batches of the soup and added a couple of tablespoons of flax seeds.

I returned the blended soup to heat and added a tablespoon of heavy cream.

Then came the fun part, I put the soup in ramekins and covered with a slice of provolone cheese.

After a couple of minutes under the broiler, this was the result:

The soup was so good, we each had a second serving (skipped the cheese). For dessert we each had half of this adorable mini watermelon.

One Response to “veggie soup”

  1. Kay aka Babygirl May 17, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    I have cravings like that too. Usually I want hot tea when it’s hot outside. Usually because of my allergies so I totally understand the soup. And I love the broccoli added in. Very nice

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

